Election Results

Dear All,


I am writing to say thank you to everyone who voted on the constitution. The Carolinas WPA now has a solid constitution in place. Thank you, again!


Now would be a good time to remind everyone that my term as president of the organization is over on January 1, 2015. We have a great colleague, friend, scholar, and leader in Tracy Morse, the Director of Composition at ECU, ready to take over. The organization will be in good hands, and she will be an excellent president of our organization. As president-elect, she has been a strong and productive voice and I am both confident and pleased that Tracy will be our new president of the Carolinas WPA effective January 1, 2015.


I am excited to continue to work with Tracy on the board as I will remain on the executive board serving in an “immediate-past president” role.


Thanks to everyone who nominated such wonderful people for these open positions. Thanks, too, to those who so graciously were willing to sacrifice their time and serve in these very important roles on our executive board. Finally, thanks to all who voted in the election.


With that, congratulations to all of the newly elected board members! Your new board members and their positions are listed below.

  • President-Elect: Collie Fulford (NCCU)
  • North Carolina At-Large Member: Dana Gierdowski (Elon University)
  • South Carolina At Large Member: Rachel Spear (Francis Marion University



To remember the duties and expectations of these and all board member positions please see the Carolinas WPA website: http://www.carolinaswpa.org/about-2/board/


Follow us on twitter:






Anthony T. Atkins, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of English

UNC Wilmington